On blogging…

“If God calls you to do something, like preach or write, you must have the courage to do it badly, even when you can’t do it well. But there is no excuse for not doing it as well as you can do it.”

As you’re reading this, you will probably notice that the last (and only) time I have posted on here was nearly 8 months ago. And it wasn’t much of a post anyway. In case you can’t tell, I’m having a hard time with this blogging thing. See, I love to write. My problem is that I also love to read what others write, and they always seem to say things so much better than I would.

Have you ever noticed that when you compare yourself to others, you can feel like a failure before you even begin?

Today I was reading in Matthew 25 – which, I might add, is one of the most important chapters in the whole Bible for followers of Jesus – and Jesus told this story about a man who went on a trip. We’ll call him Mr. Moneybags, because he literally gave bags of money to a few of his servants so they could continue his business while he was away. He gave 5 bags to one servant, 2 bags to another, and 1 bag to a third. Then he peaced out and was gone for, like, a really long time. The first two servants got to work and invested the money they had, and they ended up doubling it by the time Moneybags returned, coming out with 10 and 4 bags of money respectively. The 3rd servant looked at those first two guys and thought, Sheesh, what do I know? I can’t do what they’re doing! What if I try, and I ruin everything? So he buried his money instead. He didn’t lose a single penny! But when Moneybags got home, he was super mad at the 3rd guy for not using what he was given to earn more.

Man, I feel for that 3rd servant. I can totally relate to him. See, he didn’t bury the money to intentionally hurt his master; he really did want to please him! The problem was that he was scared. When Moneybags returned, the 3rd servant told him, “I was afraid I would lose your money, so I hid it in the earth, and here it is” (25:25). He didn’t go off and squander the money on worthless things or steal it and run off. He was just afraid of what might happen if he messed up.

OH MAN DO I GET IT.

God has given each of us a gift, a treasure, our own little “bag of money” he wants us to put to good use. I don’t know about you, but I’m really good at coming up with excuses why I can’t do whatever it is he called me to do. I’m not good enough, I don’t have time, I can’t do something GREAT so why bother doing anything at all… Oh I could keep going. But here’s what Jesus, through the voice of ol’ Moneybags, tells us:

“To those who use well what they are given, even more will be given, and they will have an abundance. But from those who are unfaithful, even what little they have will be taken away” (25:29, NLT).

Most of the time I think the emphasis of this story is given to that lazybones 3rd servant who let fear keep him from obeying his master. But check out that 2nd guy. Jesus said Moneybags gave more or less money to each servant based on his ability. Which means Servant Numero Dos with 2 bags was less capable than Numero Uno who got 5. So, did Dos get his panties in a wad and pout that Moneybags didn’t trust him enough? Did he complain that HE should have gotten the 5 bags because doesn’t Moneybags remember that one time when Uno did that one dumb thing? Did he sulk about his “lower” position and bury it like Lazybones #3? Matthew uses the exact same phrase to describe both the 1st and 2nd servants: “[They] went right to work and doubled the money.” Servant #2 didn’t look around and compare his treasure or his ability with anyone else’s. He just did his best with what he had, and in the end, Moneybags was just as happy with #2’s 4 bags as he was with Servant #1 and his 10.

You may be really awesome at whatever it is God told you to do. Or maybe you’re not, and you’re wondering why God would ask you to do it in the first place. Let me tell you, if God tells you to do it, “you must have the courage to do it badly, even if you can’t do it well.” (Sorry for the uncited quote, y’all. It was just a lonely gif I saw on Pinterest!) Stop making excuses, and just do it. I am.

Welcome to my blog.

3 thoughts on “On blogging…

  1. Ouch, I totally get it too. Guilty. Never thought about servant #2 perspective. And I like that Pinterest quote too!

    Like

  2. Ugh, why do we do this? Why do we let our fears and insecurities hold us back? I spent some time on my face this morning, crying about my fears and worries. He was here with me reminding me to abide. Reminding me that He did not give me a spirit of fear. Reminding me me that His grace and love are more than enough to accomplish what He has called me to do. Thx for this post!

    Like

  3. Pingback: 7 Things I Didn’t Know Before I Had Kids | Unthank You Very Much

Leave a Reply

