Bedtime

“Our children will also serve him.
Future generations will hear about the wonders of the Lord.
His righteous acts will be told to those not yet born.
They will hear about everything he has done.”
Psalm 22:30-31

Bedtime.

It’s a beautiful thing. It’s even more beautiful when you are a parent. Because as a parent of small children, “bedtime” does not mean the time you go to bed. Oh no, it’s even better than that. “Bedtime” is when the KIDS go to bed, which means you can finally make a coherent thought and speak an uninterrupted sentence to your spouse. It is glorious beyond compare.

I hear so many parents share about how much they love bedtime because it gives them sweet snuggle time with their little ones in those precious before-sleep moments. They delight in the routine of bath, stories, snuggles, toddler prayers (which, by the way, are hilarious), and goodnight kisses. That’s real sweet and all, but I actually dread bedtime because, at our house, it lasts 2+ hours. It actually goes a lot like The Honest Toddler suggests. We start the routine at 7:00 pm, and it is not uncommon for someone to still be awake way past 10. For heaven’s sake, I don’t know why, but if anything about child-rearing is going to make me go insane, it may very well be bedtime.

No, potty training. It would definitely be potty training. But bedtime comes in 2nd.

As my kids have gotten older, we have developed some… “loose habits,” I’ll say, because we certainly don’t do anything every night, but there are a few repeat occurrences that have happened often enough that no one is surprised when they happen. One is my children begging for me to tickle their backs, and when this happens, my 2-year-old always asks me to sing “the pretty song.”

The song is actually by Third Day, taken from Psalm 36:

Your love, oh Lord, reaches to the heavens
Your faithfulness stretches to the sky
Your righteousness is like the mighty mountain
Your justice flows like the ocean tide
And I will lift my voice to worship You, my King
And I will find my strength in the shadow of Your wing

This is my favorite song to sing to my kids, and I love that it’s my little man’s favorite, because it is pulled directly from scripture, almost word-for-word. If there is anything I absolutely love about parenting, it is the opportunity to share with them the truth of who God is. Now, just because I love it doesn’t mean I’m super awesome at it all the time. (See my last post for more on that.) But I know in my life, resting on the truth of God’s Word is the greatest source of strength, peace, comfort, and joy in all the world, and it is therefore the best gift I can ever give my children.

Today I got some crappy news. No need to go into it here, but suffice it to say I have been in desperate need of strength, peace, comfort and joy. Thanks to my children – the tiny humans who both give me life and suck it right out of me – I have exactly what I need, because I know exactly who God is. If you need me, I’ll just be over here resting in the shadow of His wings. Ahhhh.

“For you are the fountain of life,
the light by which we see.
Pour out your unfailing love on those who love you;
give justice to those with honest hearts.”
Psalm 36:9-10

One thought on “Bedtime

  1. I laughed that your kids “give you life and also suck it right out of you” because I’m certain I’ve been there. But now that my kids are grown and have children of their own, I’m thankful God and His infinite mercy somehow allows one to forget (with great clarity) the miserable parts of childrearing. Love the scripture you included from Psalms 36. Parenting is definitely the hardest thing you’ll ever do but sharing your “honest heart” with the Father is essential to finding joy in the midst of chaos (which will happen on a fairly regular basis.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

