Decisions, decisions

Pretty much anyone who knows me knows I am horrible at making simple decisions. Big things are not so difficult — buying a house, choosing a job, Jiffy or Peter Pan (uh, Peter Pan, OF COURSE) — but give me 50 cents and a vending machine, and I’ll stand there sweating for 15 minutes.

On our recent youth trip to the beach, my husband and I did the grocery shopping for 18 people for a week. I literally spent (wasted) 10 WHOLE MINUTES picking up different jellies for the PB&J. Last night we went to a restaurant, and after reading the entire menu, I told the waitress to bring me whatever she likes to eat because I can’t handle the self-disappointment of not really liking what I order. I have had a gift card for a massage sitting on my dresser for months because the therapist I like retired, and I just can’t decide if I want to risk the gift card getting a massage from someone I don’t know. Who freaking cares, Mary Beth!! You always fall asleep on the table anyway! Seriously, though.

Recently my mom became addicted to one of my favorite shows, Extreme Weight Loss. She suggested that we both do a 30-day fitness challenge in August. Due to some health and family situations the last few months, I have been very inconsistent at the gym lately, so I accepted the challenge as a means of motivating myself back to good habits.

So I actually made a decision: go big or go home.

I set a pretty ambitious workout schedule of 2 hours per day, 5 days per week. Yeeeeaaaahhh that’s a lot of gym time. Truthfully, I want to reach a certain weight by the end of the month, which is 5-9 lbs. from where I have been weighing, depending on what time it is, what I have done that day, the relative barometric pressure in the atmosphere, whether or not a butterfly flapped its wings over the plains of Africa, etc. etc.

I am telling you this because I heard that helps people follow through. I actually planned to start this routine last week, but I didn’t tell very many people the plan. Guess who only made it to the gym twice last week for an hour each time? Better than nothing, you say? Thanks for the encouragement, but it’s not better when you use gym time to validate eating Mexican food and cookie dough and Jamocha Almond Fudge iced coffees from Dunkin Donuts.

Currently my life is very uncertain. My kids are getting ready to go back to school, my church is going through a big transition, my husband’s job is changing, and I’m still recovering from the crazy things my body has been through the last few months, rounded out at the end with my current medical-textbook-worthy, head-to-toe psoriasis outbreak.

One friend actually walked up to my husband, pulled him in for a bro-hug, and whispered, “Dude, what’s up with MB’s face?” *le sigh*

In the midst of change around me, I need routine to give me a sense of normal. I want to make that my 2-a-day gym habit, and your encouragement to follow through would be great.

But, I dunno, maybe not. What do you think?

5 thoughts on “Decisions, decisions

    • Thank you, Donna! I am confident in God’s provision and plan. It is just hard for me to get through the day-to-day without the routine I’m used to. I feel like I don’t know what to do next, so I don’t do anything! I’ve got to force myself into routine for the sake of my sanity! 🙂

      Like

  1. Mary Beth, this is your Aunt Wilma… listen to me. You have three young children who take up much of your time. You have a husband who also needs some of your time. I consider myself to be ‘organized’ and this is how I do it. I decide on what is the most important thing that needs my attention. When that is accompolished, I move on to the next item of business. Do not fret..take one item at a time. At least you’re getting somethng accompolished.

    Like

    • Thank you, Aunt Wilma. I am not a very organized person due to the tiny people demanding my attention, but I do much better when we are all on a routine. Taking care of my body is a high priority because I feel better and have more energy and mental clarity to be productive throughout the day. I’m getting there…! 🙂

      Like

  2. “Towanda!”

    Btw, Towanda Township, PA says their name comes a Native American name for “where we bury our dead.” Appropriate.

    Like

Leave a Reply

