Pass Me Not

 

This was my favorite hymn when I was in high school, though I’m not sure why. We never sung it in church; I just found it in a hymnal one day and fell in love with the lyrics. The other day my daughter asked me to sing a song I liked when I was a teenager, so I chose this one. I hadn’t really thought about the lyrics on years, but they ring oh so true for me in this season. 

Pass me not, O gentle Savior
Hear my humble cry
While on others thou art calling
Do not pass me by

Refrain:
Savior, Savior
Hear my humble cry
While on others thou art calling
Do not pass me by

Let me at thy throne of mercy
Find a sweet relief
Kneeling there in deep contrition
Help my unbelief

Trusting only in thy merit
Would I seek thy face
Heal my wounded, broken spirit
Save me by thy grace

Thou the spring of all my comfort
More than life to me
Whom have I on earth beside thee?
Whom in heaven but thee?

Check out this video of a folksy version of this hymn, which is how I always sang it in my head as a teenager, having never heard it before! Sorry I couldn’t get the video to embed here; I’ll try again later. 

One thought on “Pass Me Not

  1. Simple lyrics from another time, yet I totally identify. The melody is sweet but this is actually a very passionate plea. Thanks for reminding me of this little gem.

    Like

Leave a Reply

