Full House: 5 Reasons Big Families Rock

You may have noticed I took a little (uh, long) hiatus from writing over the last few months. I’ve been a little busy gestating, birthing, and raising a brand new human! This was my first piece after the baby was born, and it posted on Knoxville Moms Blog on August 26, 2015. Hope you enjoy a little look-see into my new life as a mom of 4!

Thanksgiving 2013 at my aunt's house... I think we counted 77 people in this picture, not to mention those not present and those since added by marriage or birth!

Thanksgiving 2013 at my aunt’s house… I think we counted 77 people in this picture, not to mention those not present and those since added by marriage or birth!

“So, are we tying your tubes today?”

It seemed like a rather innocuous question coming from the admitting nurse before my 3rd C-section.

“No, ma’am, not today,” I replied coolly. She looked up from her clipboard with a surprised stare I would see over and over again through the years.

“Really??” she almost gasped.

The nurse was only the first person that day to question my decision to leave my reproductive hardware uninhibited. The anesthesiologist and a surgical assistant both asked and responded with the same bewilderment. Never mind that I was only 26 and, in my mind, entirely too young to make such permanent decisions about my family. Everyone seemed so confused: why would anyone want that many kids?

We have all heard that oft-quoted (and probably inaccurate) statistic that the average American family has 2.5 kids. That little .5 is just enough for society to nod approvingly at the smaller, 2-child households while letting those crazy 3-kid parents slide by with little more than inappropriate offers to explain “how that happens” and endless comments on how full their hands are. So what about those with more?

Just a few weeks ago, I delivered my 4th little bundle of joy, and while that hardly qualifies us for a reality TV show, as one friend recently said, “4 kids is the new 10!” Large families are just in our blood: my dad is one of 9 kids, and my mother-in-law comes from a family of 17 children! (Yep, 9 and 17, same two parents each, all single births. Insane, I know.) A lot of people have valid concerns about having so many children, and I’m not here to debate that. But whether there are 4 or 14 kids, here are just a few reasons why big families are awesome…

Click here to see the rest of this post on the Knoxville Moms Blog! Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

