15 Reasons I’m Not Sleeping Right Now

“Sleep when the baby sleeps,” they always say. But that’s not always reality for new moms. When this post first appeared on the Knoxville Moms Blog, I had a 6 week old newborn baby keeping me on my toes and off my pillow. There were lots of other things keeping me from sleeping, though. Read on to see what’s on my list…

15 Reasons I'm Not Sleeping

Newborn babies are glorious. Their sweet smell, the softness of their brand new skin, the way their tiny bodies curl up in your arms… There’s just nothing like the perfect little love of a newborn.

There’s also nothing like the slew of new mom advice we get from experienced moms when we are expecting. This isn’t my first go-round as a parent, and still my favorite nugget of wisdom is the one that may be hardest to follow: Sleep when the baby sleeps.

As one of those experienced moms, I make this suggestion all the time. My own mother often reminds me that sleep deprivation is used as a form of torture, and buddy, I can see why! I have learned to sleep whenever possible. However, having just welcomed my 4th little bundle of joy, that blessed state of REM seems more and more elusive. Believe it or not, this parenting thing has gotten more complicated with all these tiny people in my house! Even right now, as my baby is blissfully sleeping in the other room, here I sit writing this blog for you. At any given moment, these are a few of the reasons I am not sleeping right now…

Click here to see the rest of this post on Knoxville Moms Blog! Hope you enjoy… and get some sleep!

Leave a Reply

